Wednesday, February 14, 2018


Renowned Boston Singer / Songwriter Susan Cattaneo was named as a nominee in five categories at the 16th annual Independent Music Awards (The IMAs), the influential honors for independent artists and releases. More than 400 innovative self-released and indie label projects culled from thousands of submissions worldwide, were nominated by fans and industry panelists

Four of the nominations are tied to Susan's eclectic double album 'The Hammer & The Heart' which was released in August 2017, charting at #1 on Billboard's Heatseekers Northeast chart. The album features collaborations with 40 artists on an electric and acoustic disc. It is named for Best Country Album and Susan is nominated for Best Producer Roots / Country ("Backdoor Slam" produced by Susan Cattaneo & Stuart Kimball). The acoustic version song "Work Hard, Love Harder" featuring The Boxcar Lilies, which charted at #1 on the Folk DJ Radio Chart in August, is nominated for Best Acoustic Song. A stripped down cover of David Bowie's "Space Oddity," featuring Amy Fairchild and Todd Thibaud is the Fan Nominee for the Best Cover Song category.

Rounding out the nominations in the Best A Cappella Song category is "Sisters Of A Different Skin," a song about gender equality that features 26 New England based female musicians from different ethnic backgrounds, musical genres, and ages.

Nominated along with Susan Cattaneo is an eclectic mix of established artists and rising stars include: Taylor Grey, Esprit d'Air, Harriet, Fiona Joy, Dan Zanes, Next To None, Rozina P├ítkai, Air Traffic Controller, Valerie Smith & Liberty Pike, Julian Lage, Jane Siberry and The Bankesters.  Fan-nominated artists in the Song and Video categories include: Reeve Carney, Matthew Huff, MADYX, Ganda Boys, Karim Baggili and Amiss O.mega [featuring Snoop Dogg]. Click here for a full list of The 16th IMA Nominees and Categories

The winning projects will be selected by judging panels of top recording artists including:, Slayer, Bakithi Kumalo, Michael W. Smith, Sepultura, Amy Lee [Evanescence] among many others; and influential press and talent buyers from the Americas, Europe and Pacific Rim.

Winners will be announced at The IMAs Independent Music Party at Lincoln Center on March 31st. Now in its 17th year, The Independent Music Awards, produced by Music Resource Group honor the year's most exceptional & artistically daring music projects from self-released and indie label talent from around the globe. And connects them to new performance, promotion, distribution and fans. Program winners and nominees include extraordinary artists at every stage of their careers and include Amy Lee, Masta Ace, Valerie June, Meghan Trainor, Passenger, Jackson Browne, Team Me, Radio Radio, ...And You Will Know Us by the Trail of Dead, Girl In A Coma, Apples in stereo, Pokey LaFarge, Killer Mike among many more.

No comments:

Post a Comment