Thursday, November 17, 2011

Rainer Maria EPs Reissued As New Caithlin De Marrais Solo CD 'Red Coat's Out Now

With the recent release of Caithlin De Marrais' solo album 'Red Coats'' (End Up Records) release, here is another reason to cover her. Polyvinyl Records – who said on their homepage that "Rainer Maria is arguably one of the most important bands in Polyvinyl's 15-year history" – are reissuing three EPs (Rainer Maria, Atlantic, Ears Ring) by the "indie rock icons" (SPIN) on vinyl, with the collection simply titled 'Rainer Maria.' It's a limited edition of 300 on 180-gram yellow vinyl which comes with an MP3 download.

More info on 'Red Coats'

'Rainer Maria' cover art

Of De Marrais, The Village Voice said, "The former Rainer Maria frontwoman has a new solo album coming next month, 'Red Coats,' and it reduces her old band’s emo-rock blare to a quieter roar, surrounding de Marrais’ uncommonly expressive singing with tense little clicks and buzzes, slyly destabilizing where Rainer Maria once aimed to knock off socks."

Magnet is streaming 'Red Coats' in its entirety.

Caithlin De Marrais tour dates.

'Rainer Maria' track listing

Side A:

  1. There Will Be No Night
  2. Atlantic
  3. Soul Singer
  4. Ears Ring
  5. Alchemy
  6. Automatic

Side B:

  1. Summer and Longer
  2. I Love You Too
  3. Rain Yr Hand
  4. Portland
  5. Ian
  6. Made In Secret

Both albums are available for pre-order on Polyvinyl's site.

No comments:

Post a Comment